Citizen Science for Stewardship of Coastal and Ocean Resources
Volunteers have submitted 17186 surveys to date.

The California MPA Watch program is implemented by ten different organizations throughout the state. For information regarding each of the participating programs, follow the links below. For questions regarding your local MPA Watch program, or to find out more about an organization, email the listed representative. 
 
 
California Academy of Science
The California Academy of Science is a renowned scientific and educational institution, dedicated to exploring, explaining, and sustaining life on Earth.
Rebecca Johnson, rjohnson@calacademy.org
 
Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary
The Farallones Marine Sanctuary Association is dedicated to protecting Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary's wildlife and habitats through the development of a diverse community of informed and active ocean stewards.
Kirsten Lindquist, klindquist@farallones.org
 
Heal the Bay – Los Angeles County
Heal the Bay is an environmental nonprofit dedicated to making the coastal water and watersheds of Greater Los Angeles safe, healthy and clean.
Lily Ledesma – mpawatch@healthebay.org

Los Angeles Waterkeeper - Los Angeles
Founded in 1993, Los Angeles Waterkeeper's mission is to protect and restore Santa Monica Bay, San Pedro Bay, and adjacent waters through enforcement, fieldwork, and community action.
Michael Quill, mquill@lawaterkeeper.org

Orange County Coastkeeper - Orange County
The mission of Orange County Coastkeeper is to protect and promote water resources that are swimmable, drinkable, fishable, and sustainable.
Ray Hiemstra, ray@coastkeeper.org
 

Santa Barbara Channelkeeper - Santa Barbara County
Santa Barbara Channelkeeper's mission is to protect and restore the Santa Barbara Channel and its watersheds through science-based advocacy, education, field work and enforcement.
Penny Owens, penny@sbck.org
 
West Marin Environmental Action Committee - Marin County
The Environmental Action Committee of West Marin is dedicated to the protection and appreciation of West Marin's wild lands, wildlife, wilderness, watersheds, and rural character.
Morgan Patton, morgan@eacmarin.org
 
WILDCOAST - San Diego County
WILDCOAST conserves coastal and marine ecosystems and wildlife.
Angela Kemsley, angela@wildcoast.net
 


To learn more about the California Ocean Science Trust’s work on MPA Watch technical coordination, contact Leila Sievanen and Ryan Meyer, citizenscience@calost.org